Senate Presidents And Speakers Nigeria Has Had Since 1999

Full List of Senate Presidents and Speakers Nigeria Has Had Since 1999 And Regions They Came From can be accessed below.

With the return to civilian rule in 1999, Nigeria has now operated under democracy for 24 years.

ALSO: Sunday Igboho Resurfaces, Reveals Those Behind Yoruba Nation Agitation


Within the period, the country has had four presidents. The first president, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, ruled for eight years (1999-2007). He is from Ogun State in the South-West region.


Obasanjo was succeeded by Umar Yar’Adua who ruled Nigeria until his death in 2010. Yar’Adua was from Katsina State in the North-West region.

801b50c01eb3407f913fc11c92b0bfe7?quality=uhq&format=webp&resize=720Senate President Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan. Photo credit: Twitter/@DrAhmadLawan

Goodluck Jonathan, the then vice president, completed Yar’Adua’s tenure in 2011 and was re-elected four years. Jonathan who is from Bayelsa State in the South-South left in 2015.

Breaking: DSS Moves To Arrest And Deal With These Set Of Nigerians


He was succeeded by President Muhammadu Buhari who completed his first tenure in 2019 and will finish the second in 2023. President Buhari also from Katsina State in the North-West.


As Nigeria prepares for the next general elections in 2023, there have been agitations that the presidency should return to the South.


However, not much attention has been given to other principal positions such as the seats of the Senate president and House of Representatives.

ALSO: Watch Popular Female Pastor Breastfeeding Members For Miracle (Video)


Which region should produce the occupants of these two seats in 2023? Before you answer the question, let us take a look at the past Senate presidents and House of Reps’ speakers Nigeria has had since 2003 and the regions they came from.

84724ef963c548d99f7ea27ebbada0dc?quality=uhq&format=webp&resize=720Senate president Lawan, House of Reps Speaker, Gbajabiamila. Photo credit: Twitter/@femigbaja

Senate presidents

1. Senator Evan Enwerem (1999, Imo State, South-East Nigeria)

Senator Evan Enwerem was the first Senate president at the start of the Fourth Republic in 1999. He was, however, removed after six months. Enwerem is from Imo State in South-East Nigeria.

2. Senator Chuba Okadigbo (1999 – 2000, Delta State, South-South Nigeria)

Senator Chuba Okadigbo replaced Enwerem but was also removed in August 2000 after being accused of corruption. Okadigbo is from Asaba, Delta State, in South-South Nigeria.

3. Senator Anyim Pius Anyim (2000 – 2003, Ebonyi State, South-East Nigeria)

Senator Anyim Pius Anyim replaced Okadigbo in 2000 and headed the Senate until 2003. Anyim is from Ebonyi State in the South-East.

4. Senator Adolphus Wabara (2003 – 2005, Abia State, South-East Nigeria)

Senator Adolphus Wabara served as the president of the Senate from 2003 to 2005. He was forced to resign for allegedly involving a bribery scandal. He was later cleared of the allegation.

Wabara is from Abia State in the South-East.

5. Senator Ken Nnamani (2005 – 2007, Enugu State, South-East Nigeria)

Senator Ken Nnamani led the Senate from 2005 to 2007. He is from Enugu State in the South-East.

6. Senator David Mark (2007 – 2011, Benue State, North-Central)

Senator David Mark led the Senate from 2007 to 2011. He is from Benue State in the North-Central region.

7. Senator Bukola Saraki (2015 – 2019, Kwara State, North-Central)

Senator Bukola Saraki, a former governor of Kwara State, served as the president of the Senate from 2015 to 2019. He is from Kwara State in the North-Central.

8. Senator Ahmad Lawan (2019 – Date, Yobe State, North-East)

Senator Ahmad Lawan is the current president of the Senate. His tenure began in 2019. Lawan is from Yobe State in the North-East region.

Out of the eight Senate presidents Nigeria has had since 1999, the South-East region produced four while the North-Central produced two.

South-South and North-East produced only one each.b398eb5bef6e45cdb8e64937819f8269?quality=uhq&format=webp&resize=720Photo credit: Twitter/@HouseNGR

House of Reps Speakers

1. Salisu Buhari (1999, Kano State, North-West Nigeria)

Salisu Buhari from Kano State was the first speaker of the House in the Fourth Republic. He occupied the position between June and July 1999 before he had to resign over the certificate falsification scandal. He is from Kano State in the North-West.

2. Ghali Na’Abba (1999 – 2003, Kano State, North-West Nigeria)

Ghali Na’Abba replaced Salisu Buhari and occupied the position till 2003. He is also from Kano State in the North-West.

3. Aminu Masari (2003 – 2007, Katsina State, North-West)

Aminu Masari held the position of the Speaker of the House of Representatives from 2003 to 2007. He hails from Katsina State in the North-West.

4. Patricia Etteh (2007, Osun State, South-West)

To date, Patricia Etteh is the first and only female lawmaker elected speaker of the House. She became the Speaker in 2007. However, she only lasted five months due to a corruption scandal.

Etteh is from Osun State in the South-West.

5. Dimeji Bankole (2007 – 2011, Ogun State, South-West)

Dimeji Bankole replaced Etteh in 2007 and held the position from 2007 to 2011. He is from Ogun State in the South-West region.

6. Aminu Tambuwal (2011 – 2015, Sokoto State, North-West)

Aminu Tambuwal succeeded Bankole in 2011 and held the position till 2015. He is the current governor of Sokoto State in the North-West region.

7. Yakubu Dogara (2015 – 2019, Bauchi State, North-East)

Yakubu Dogara emerged speaker in June 2015 and held the position until 2019. He is from Bauchi State in the North-East region.

8. Femi Gbajabiamila (2019 – Date, Lagos, South-West)

Femi Gbajabiamila is the current Speaker of the House of Reps. He hails from Lagos in the South-West.

Out of the eight Speakers Nigeria has had since 1999, North-West produced four while North-East produced one. The South-West produced the remaining three.