Lagos Bans US

Lagos has taken fresh decisions on visitors from the US, Canada, France, Germany, Others over the high risk of Covid-19 third wave.


News Online reports that the Lagos State Government has placed the United States, Kenya, Tanzania, Ghana, Togo, South Africa, Canada, France, Germany, Uganda, the Netherland, Cameroun, Angola, and Rwanda on its watch list as it works to prevent a third wave of the pandemic.

Breaking: Late Ikonso’s ESN Deputy Eze Arrested

The Commissioner for Health, Prof. Akin Abayomi, News Online understands made the disclosure yesterday at a briefing on the state’s COVID-19 update and preparation against the third wave, insisting that preventing the importation of the mutants was the best way to adopt.


According to the Health Commissioner, “We are preparing and building resistance, but if the third wave enters, the state would prevent it from going into the community.”


Besides India, Brazil and Turkey that already have federal attention, Lagos State said it would closely monitor passengers from the 13 countries listed above.

Abayomi also disclosed that the state had received new 57,000 vaccines from the Federal Government, which it had started administering.


JUST IN: Police Reveals When It Will Release Baba Ijesha


The commissioner said with the new doses, 27,000 more residents would receive the jabs.


“In Lagos, we have experienced the first and second waves. We are looking at the factors that could possibly trigger the third wave,” he noted.


He identified laxity among citizens, false sense of security and non-adherence to guidelines as likely factors encouraging the third wave.

In his contribution, the Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Gbenga Omotoso, said Governor Bababjide Sanwo-Olu had implored residents to remain calm and adhere to non-pharmaceutical protocols.