Connect with us

2023 Elections

2023: Six Steps To Collect Your PVC Ahead Of Deadline



Collect Your PVC

Here is a Step by step guide on how to collect your PVC.


NewsOnline reports that with six weeks to go to Nigeria’s general elections, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has extended the deadline for the collection of Permanent Voter Cards (PVCs) nationwide by one week.

While the presidential election has been fixed for February 25th, the deadline for PVC collection is Sunday, January 29.

The deadline was shifted to the above-stated date to enable Nigerians who are registered voters to have ample opportunity to collect their PVCs ahead of the forthcoming polls.


With many yet to collect and an increase in complaints of difficulty experienced at INEC offices, the Electoral body has commenced the distribution of PVCs at the various ward levels in all 36 States of the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja.

READ ALSO: BREAKING: Government Declares Tuesday Public Holiday For PVC Collection

States like Ondo, Lagos, Ekiti, Abia, and many others have declared holidays to enable civil servants to go and collect their PVCs.


Registered voters are expected to go to the state where they registered and locate the local government area (LGA) and the LGA code with the registration area name (RA Name and code) and the collection centre.

Voters who applied for PVC can go to their centres with any of their temporary voter cards or photocopied driving licenses, or National Identity Cards, or passport photos to collect their cards.


Here are six simple steps on how to collect your PVC:

  1. Whether as a new or existing registered voter, you are to visit the state where you registered.
  2. Take the slip given to you during voter registration along.
  3. Locate the INEC office specified in the slip within your local government area (LGA).
  4. When you get to the INEC collection centre, newly registered voters are to present the slip to the officials.
  5. At the same time, voters who also applied to change their voting location must submit their slips.
  6. Meanwhile, registered voters with temporary voter’s cards are advised to go to the INEC office in the LGA to exchange their temporary voter’s card for a permanent voters card.