Headies Next Rated Award
Headies Next Rated Award

14 Artists Who Have Won Headies Next Rated Award Since Inception Has Been Shared By This Reporter.


NewsOnline Nigeria understands that the Headies Award for Next Rated is an award presented at The Headies, a ceremony established in 2006 and originally called the Hip Hop World Awards. It was first presented to Aṣa in 2006.


RECOMMENDED: #14thHeadies: Full List of 14th Headies Winners 2021


In addition to receiving the award plaque, recipients of the Next Rated honour are given a vehicle at a later date.


Below are past winners of The Headies Award for Next Rated artist.


1. Asa (2006)

(Nominees: N/A)

2. Overdose (2007)

(Nominees: Naeto C, Lawal Olumo, Kage, C-Mion, Gino, Blaise)

3. Wande Coal (2008)

(Nominees: GT the Guitarman, M.I Abaga, Banky W, Cyrus da Virus)

4. Omawumi (2009)

(Nominees: Kel, YQ, MP, Djinee)

5. Skuki (2010)

(Nominees: General Pype, Mo’Cheddah, Jesse Jagz, D’Prince)

6. Wizkid (2011)

(Nominees: Ice Prince, Olamide, Tiwa Savage)

7. Davido (2012)

(Nominees: Eva Alordiah, Praiz, Chuddy K)

8. Sean Tizzle (2013)

(Nominees: Burna Boy, Dammy Krane, Seyi Shay, Phyno)

9. Patoranking (2014)

(Nominees: Runtown, Yemi Alade, Skales, Orezi)

10. Reekado Banks (2015)

(Nominees: Lil Kesh, Kiss Daniel, Korede Bello, Cynthia Morgan)

11. Mr Eazi (2016)

(Nominees: Tekno, Ycee, Humblesmith, Aramide)

12. Mayorkun (2018)

(Nominees: Maleek Berry, Johnny Drille, Dice Ailes, Zoro)

13. Rema (2019)

(Nominees: Fireboy DML, Joeboy, Zlatan, Lyta, Victor AD)

14. Omah Lay (2021)

(Nominees: Tems, Oxlade, and Bella Shmurda)